Where do you live and what is your typical day?

I live in a little village in west Oxfordshire with my husband Charlie and our three boys, Wolf, Rafferty and Kit.  A typical day is chaos.  I’ll be with the boys first thing and then probably in my studio playing with flowers after that.  I might then head to see Charlie at our pub, The Bull Inn, in Charlbury.  I do all the decorating/styling and flowers.

What do you recommend seeing/doing in London?

Covent Garden Flower market at 5am.  Heaven on earth.

Do you have any hobbies?

Brocanting. Nothing makes me happier than a dusty old flea market. Gardening. Cooking and anything food related.

Where is your favourite holiday destination?

Tresco in the Scilly Isles.  I’ve been there every summer since I was tiny and it feels like home. We went to Paxos this September which was also a sensation.

What is your favourite London restaurant?

Petersham Nurseries.  And Zuma for the food.

Please describe your style.

Erratic.   I don’t really feel I could give myself a label.   I love wispy florals, tartans, embellished velvets.  Totally unpractical for my life really… and I loathe anything tight, restrictive or uncomfortable which is quite limiting too.  I spend a lot of time in overalls and dungarees with golden goose high-tops.

What is your last fashion purchase?

Charlie brought me an incredible long red dress from Preen to wear at my brother's wedding this December.

Fashion must have for Autumn Winter?

Aquazzura's Fauna ankle boots.  They’re burgundy velvet ankle boots covered with beaded insects.  They make me hyperventilate. And totally out of my budget.  They’re on my wish list. 




InterviewsJet Shenkman